Days after a journalist claimed that Meta’s Muse app on Mac learn their non-public messages — a claim that Meta disputed — Apple introduced that it’s introducing further controls round a setting referred to as “Full Disk Entry” on macOS. The function was designed to permit backups to operate correctly, however AI brokers have now elevated “the dangers related to this degree of entry,” Apple stated.
Apple’s assertion comes shortly after Inc. columnist Jason Aten reported that Muse knew the content material of his non-public messages — though he claimed to haven’t given the AI agent permission. The report raised questions in regards to the degree of safety and belief customers have in desktop-based AI, which may management issues on their methods and browse their recordsdata and messages.
The choice to restrict the Mac function additionally comes after a Wired report cited {that a} flaw in ChatGPT’s Mac app might have allowed hackers to entry delicate knowledge.
AI brokers that run on the desktop enable customers to supply their respective apps with higher entry to the recordsdata, messages, and different private content material on their computer systems by adjusting macOS settings.
In Muse’s case, the AI optionally permits customers to allow Full Disk Entry. This setting, Apple explains, provides an app permission to entry recordsdata, mail, messages, and even looking historical past.
“Some builders are utilizing Full Disk Entry in ways in which might put customers in danger, exposing every part on their methods…with out customers’ full information and understanding,” Apple stated in a new blog post aimed toward builders.
The corporate says that, going ahead, it can introduce new controls aimed toward making certain that customers who “genuinely want to grant an app this extraordinary degree of entry” can accomplish that solely with “very specific person motion.”
“Addressing that is essential. As AI brokers turn into more and more succesful and autonomous, the dangers related to this degree of entry will develop considerably. We’re dedicated to making sure customers clearly perceive these dangers earlier than granting such entry, to allow them to make knowledgeable choices about their very own knowledge and privateness,” Apple wrote.
Apple didn’t reply to TechCrunch’s inquiry in regards to the function change.
Once you buy by hyperlinks in our articles, we may earn a small commission. This doesn’t have an effect on our editorial independence.

